Roman Catholic Diocese of Grand Falls

PO Box 397

Grand Falls-Windsor, NL  A2A 2J8

Tel: (709) 489-4019;  Fax: (709) 489-6393




Office of the Bishop

Diocesan Directory

Diocesan History



Marriage Tribunal

Parish Directory


Renewal Centres

Upcoming Events




Contact Us


Office of the Bishop

PO Box 771

Grand Falls-Windsor

NL   A2A 2M4

Tel:    709-489-2778

Fax:   709-489-8431


  1784 Newfoundland designated a Prefecture Apostolic on May 17th.  The Prefect Apostolic James Louis O'Donel arrives in September.  
  1856 Diocese of Harbour Grace canonically erected on February 29th by Pope Pius IX.  Right Reverend John Dalton, D. D. named Bishop.  
  1870 Right Reverend Henry Carfagini, D. D. named Bishop.  
1881 Right Reverend Ronald MacDonald, D. D. named Bishop.
  1906 Right Reverend John March, D. D. named Bishop.  
  1940 Most Reverend John M. O'Neill, D. D. named Bishop.  
  1953 Name of the Diocese changed to Harbour Grace-Grand Falls.  Immaculate Conception Church becomes co-Cathedral on December 5th.  
  1963 Seat of the Diocese moved to Grand Falls.  
  1965 Name of Diocese changes to Diocese of Grand Falls  
  1973 Most Reverend Alphonsus L. Penney, D. D. named Bishop.  
  1980 Most Reverend Joseph Faber MacDonald named Bishop.  
  2001 Most Reverend Martin W. Currie named Bishop.  
  2011 Most Reverend Robert Anthony Daniels named as 9th Bishop  

updated September 01, 2017

Send comments to webmaster